Gettin’ Crafty!

I’ve been in a crafting kind of mood lately, but haven’t felt the knitting mojo at all. I started a cabled wrap at the beginning of October, but it’s been languishing for weeks now, just waiting for me to pick up the pointy sticks and get to work. If I just sit down and start, I know it’ll come back to me, but it’s a matter of inertia at this point.

So instead of knitting, what I have been doing to satisfy this crafting mood is making Christmas decorations.

I had always wanted to decorate the outside of my house, but other than wrapping a string or two of lights around the railing of an apartment porch, I’ve never really had the chance. I thought I might give it a shot last year, right up until November rolled around. And then November just wasn’t good to me, so I passed on it after all.

But not this year! Last week I posted about hanging Christmas lights because it was the only nice warm day in the forecast here for early November. It was something I had never done before and I got them all up in that one beautiful afternoon! I was so proud of myself! Yay me!

So yesterday, I spent some time making a wreath for the front door. This is another thing I’ve never really tried before even though it really isn’t that hard. I found some holly berry lights that we haven’t used in several years along with some plastic glittery ornaments that looked almost new. I got a great deal on an undecorated wreath at Michael’s this week – on sale for $7 and used a coupon for 25% off your whole purchase…pretty cool, huh? I also got a couple of stems with berries on them for just over $1 each and a container of the prettiest silver jingle bells for only $4.50! So my wreath only cost me about $14. Not too bad, if I do say so myself.

I laid everything out to make sure I liked how it looked and then used green twist ties to attach everything. Now I just need to be patient for the rest of the week until I am allowed to put it up! (Ken agreed to the lights early because of the weather, but said I had to wait at least until this coming weekend for anything else…it’s killing me!) I have plans to make something else tomorrow, so we’ll see how that turns out…he thinks I’m nuts.

4 thoughts on “Gettin’ Crafty!

    1. I figure Toronto’s Santa Claus Parade is on the 18th, so I can safely start decorating then while I watch the parade. I won’t actually put up the tree yet, but garland and stuff like that…YES!

Leave a reply, eh?

