Gettin’ Crafty – It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

I woke up this morning determined to bounce back and have a good day today and so far, so good! I give all credit to the magic soup I made last night for dinner. So I decided to make some more decorations for the front of the house.

Like I said before, I know it’s early for some people to be thinking about Christmas, but I’m okay with that. You guys drag your feet. My house is gonna look awesome and I’ll be sitting by the fire drinking cocoa while you are all untangling your lights. No, I’m just kidding…but seriously, I just happen to really like Christmas decorating and it’s a wonder that I’ve waited this long, truth be told. It’s probably only Ken’s more Grinchy take on the holidays that restrains me. (No, Ken is awesome, I’m just kidding.)

Incidentally, what do Canadians consider to be the start of the holiday season? I really don’t know, other than the “not before Remembrance Day!” complainers.  Americans generally think of Thanksgiving as the beginning, but since Canadian Thanksgiving is at the beginning of October, that would make for a super long Yuletide, and even I might get burned out on that. I did make the mistake of going to Costco on Remembrance Day to get some things I needed, and that looked vaguely like Black Friday, but I couldn’t be sure since Costco is always ridiculously busy. So, if you’re Canadian…what is the start of the season? Inquiring minds want to know.

The project I decided to tackle today was inspired by these little topiary trees I found on Pinterest. And, before I go any further, I know what you’re thinking…”you mean you actually make the crafty stuff you find on Pinterest?!” Don’t worry. It’s an aberration. I won’t let it go to my head. It would be too hard to pull myself away from all the shiny pictures to do this too often.

Unfortunately, I can’t, for the life of me, seem to find the original pin, but here is the blog it linked to.  Oh wait…let me pin that right now.

Okay, I’m back! I even linked up the pin for you. See what a giving mood I’m in today?!

This is one of the easiest crafty decorations I’ve made. It’s just tomato cages, garland, lights, and some ornaments, but the effect is definitely more than the sum of it’s parts. If I do say so myself.

I bought the tomato cages at the end of the summer for $2 each, I had the garland and lights already, and I bought the ornaments at a dollar store. So, in all my total was $11 for all three.  I saw the garland at Michael’s on sale for $5, so I suppose if you had to buy that, add about another $20 or so. Still, it’s a bargain because I saw these suckers at Wal-mart just today.

I mean really…low prices?! Who are they kidding?

I was really happy with how my little Christmas topiary trees turned out and they’ll look fantastic on my front porch when Ken lets me actually put them out there. Which will be in two days! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Gettin’ Crafty – It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

    1. I was pretty excited when I saw it on Pinterest. I could never justify paying so much for little trees to put on the front porch, but I knew I could make these cheaply and make them look great! I can’t wait to put them outside and light them up!

Leave a reply, eh?

