Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings – God’s gift to southerners (or at least this southerner)

I don’t really know how people in other parts of the country/world feel about Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings, but that’s how I feel about it. Manna from heaven, pretty much. I do know that store-bought just isn’t the same, though. I also don’t understand the flat dumplings some people make. Growing up, dumplings were always plump and dropped from a spoon, not rolled and cut into little squares. I remember stirring the soup to keep a spot open for mama to drop those dumplings in.

I made some Chicken ‘n’ dumplings tonight for dinner and every time I do, I am reminded of old times. Like when we lived in Aunt Sarah’s old white house and sometimes the heat would go out and we’d all gather in the kitchen with the oven door open to keep us warm on the outside and good comfort food like this keeping us warm on the inside.

I’ve seen some recipes that add in lots of veggies and I never do. Mainly because we never had veggies in ours when I was growing up.  I don’t know if that’s because it was cheaper this way, but that’s how my mom made it and that’s how I like it.  And did I tell you?  My mom asked me for my recipe!  Can you believe that?! I know now I’ve really grown up. Haha!

Well, I don’t exactly have a recipe, but I will be happy to tell you how I make my Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings so you, too, can taste a little bit of heaven!

Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings

First, I heat up some olive oil in a stock pot. I never measure, but if pressed I’d say about 3 Tbsps. Tonight, I also added about 2 Tbsps of butter because I wanted lots of flavor. I like butter. And flavor. Next I diced a medium yellow onion and pressed 3 cloves of garlic and let those cook until the onions were transparent.

Then I threw in the chicken – I used 2 breasts and 6 legs tonight. All with the skin on. That makes for more flavor. Did I mention I like flavor? I added salt and pepper, poultry seasoning, and herbs de provence…I couldn’t give you measurements, but don’t be skimpy. You can also add more later once the chicken is cooked through and you can taste it, so don’t worry!

I let the chicken brown for a few minutes and then added in 4 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups of water. I also added 2 bay leaves. Then I let it come to a boil, turned down the heat and let it simmer until the chicken is cooked through. I guess that took about 30 minutes or so.

Take the chicken out with some tongs,  remove the chicken from the bones, shred it up into small pieces and return to the broth. Discard of the skin and bones. Also remove and discard of the bay leaves. Here is where you can taste the broth to see if you need to add more seasoning.

For the dumplings, I use the Bisquick (or Pamela’s Baking mix if you are gluten-free, like me) measurements – 2 cups mix to 2/3 cup milk. I don’t actually measure that anymore either, but those are the measurements given by both mixes. If you are using Pamela’s, add in 1/2 tsp. salt, too. Mix until you get a nice soft dough. Bring your broth back to a boil and drop small teaspoons of dough into the rolling broth. Stir every few minutes. Once your dumplings are all floating up on top, you’re done! Serve it up in bowls, add some pepper to taste, and enjoy!

I hope it turns out as yummy for you as it did for me!

6 thoughts on “Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings – God’s gift to southerners (or at least this southerner)

Leave a reply, eh?

