Whoops! No apple pie today, either!

WIPs

Again I promised apple pie and again I fail to deliver. I suck at this. I should stop making promises and go with what happens in a day.

I was distracted from apple pie by a new endeavor that I’ve been thinking about for quite a while. In fact, I’ve been mulling it over and over, writing down ideas, drawing diagrams and plans and looking for inspiration, but never actually making the leap to start, so this past week I decided to finally just jump in and do it.

I’m going to be starting a little Etsy shop to sell crafts. I’m starting with sewn handbags and wallets and such, but I kind of wanted to be able to create whatever my heart’s desire was at the time. I’m really having fun making the bags, though, so that’s what it is for now.

So that’s what I’ve been doing all day – cutting fabric, sewing, and trying to think of a good name for my shop. Ken and I liked Sweet Tea Studio, but sadly, that’s taken…then I thought Sweet Tea Handcrafts and he liked Sweet Tea Creations.  I think we somehow got stuck on Sweet Tea, hahaha! I am kind of addicted to the stuff, like any self respecting Southern girl, so it feels like it fits. I’m still in the building up some stock phase before I actually open up though, so I have a little time to settle on a name. I’m still pretty undecided on it.

I started out by making this bag for myself as a birthday present and to test out this pattern – it’s not my own, it’s a pattern I purchased from Made by Rae, although I have plans for some other things that will be my own designs. I absolutely love how it turned out. And I only stabbed my finger tips with pins 6 or 7 times, so that was pretty good!

My birthday bag

You can see at the top, the fabric for some of the bags that are in progress. I cut the fabric for 12 bags today and finished one because I wanted to see how long it would actually take to make one bag. For the rest, I plan to work in sort of an assembly line fashion. I’m pretty excited about how cute these turn out! Just look at this one:

Cherries Bag

Anyway, that’s what I was doing today when I was supposed to be making apple pie. Sorry about that.

10 thoughts on “Whoops! No apple pie today, either!

  1. You are doing a great job on the bags. If you need a wallet pattern, let me know. I also have a good tutorial on how to make a zippered bag. Don’t let zippers scare you. It’s very easy.

    1. Thanks! I ain’t afeared o’ no zippers! LOL!

      No, really, I put one in that skirt I made forever ago and I found lots of tutorials online. I may ask you about it when I get to it, though.

    1. Thanks! It is a lot of fun, and I really like the Sweet Tea thing, too. It’s one of the small things I don’t like about living in Canada. You can’t get real brewed sweet tea here unless you make it yourself. Any tea that’s sweetened is that weird Brisk or Nestea stuff. That’s not tea!!

Leave a reply, eh?

