There’s no time like the present

532494_4521333984962_2025983350_n If you’re like me, there are a lot of things that you think you’ll get to one day. Or that you think, I’ll share that with my family one day. Things that sit at the back of your mind, waiting for the day when the time will be just right to finally do them.

There are a lot of things that I always thought would be traditions for me and my family. But traditions are made by doing, and families aren’t always what we expect them to be. I spent a long time waiting for my life to start, and I realized that a while before I met Ken. It’s actually probably WHY I met Ken. But I didn’t realize until earlier this year that there were still things I was waiting for that I just needed to go ahead and do. Because the time might not ever be perfect and my family might not ever look the way I wanted it to. Why wait to do the things that make me happy because my life isn’t exactly how I expected it to be right this minute?

I don’t actually feel like I’m doing anything different, but the way I feel about what I’m doing is different. I feel happier about it, even if nothing has really changed. There’s less weight to them, if that makes any sense at all. There’s still a sense of what’s missing, but it’s not nearly so heavy as it was and the only thing that has changed is my attitude about it. This wasn’t an easy shift, but it does get a bit easier as I keep going.

This might seem like a weird transition, but that’s what led me to baking so many cookies this year. I like cookies. But I like to bake them more than I like to eat them. So, I decided that I would bake all the cookies I wanted this year and then just give them away. So I baked more cookies today and then boxed most of them up and took them to Ken’s office and gave them all to his co-workers. I have a lot left still and I may package some more up and take them to the neighbors tomorrow. There’s no way Ken and I can eat all of what we have, so why not share?

I’ve always baked cookies at Christmas, but I usually limit what I bake because “it’s just me and Ken”, and that’s what limits a lot of things I do. This year, I decided, why wait? Why limit what I’m doing simply because my family is small? We have enough to share and people to share with, so why not start there? What was I waiting for?

Have a cookie, from me to you. I’ve got plenty to share.

67910_4521081818658_2027170251_n

 

One thought on “There’s no time like the present

  1. They look delicious. I hope to catch up with stuff around here and start making merry myself…Hubby wants to bake cookies too. He loves oatmeal ones, and so I taught him those…I used to make a ton, but lately, I run out of time. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a reply, eh?

