All I want for Christmas

165846_3783570981348_767676177_nI had to take Ilex in to the vet today. She’s not been herself for a few days…lethargic, not eating, and this morning she began vomiting. She’s 16 years old now, so she’s had a long life, but I have a very hard time with the idea of letting go. She’s a huge part of our lives and the thought that she might not be with us much longer is difficult, to say the least. I think at this point, it might even be harder for me than it will be for Ken. And that’s saying a lot.

They kept her tonight (and maybe tomorrow night, too) because they said her kidney function is compromised and they wanted to give her fluids intravenously to see if they can bring her levels down. They switched out her pain medication because the old stuff is hard on the kidneys. They said they couldn’t be sure if this was an acute problem or chronic, but that they suspected it was chronic due to her advanced age.

All I want for Christmas this year is for Ilex to come home and be with us for a while longer.

15159_1246779803154_276860_n

16135_1240970857934_4896949_n

5 thoughts on “All I want for Christmas

  1. Of all the dogs I have ever known, she is the one I have loved the most, and I have only been around her a couple of times. She even came to me in my dreams when I was in the hospital! I’m hoping she gets home in time for Christmas.

Leave a reply, eh?

