Happy New Year – part 2

My first sold item!
My first sold item!

In addition to starting the new year by being thankful for a happy, healthy doggie, I also kicked it off by opening my new Etsy shop in the wee hours of this morning!  I was so excited, but I tried to tell myself to be patient because sales wouldn’t happen just like that, but I actually had my first two sales today, too! And of course, there was much Kermit flailing when I got the email notification about my first sale. It had to be done. In fact, I think some Kermit flailing is in order now.

kermit-flail

Phew!  Guess that takes care of the first workout of the year!

This was such a great way to start 2013, especially since Ken was “supportive, but skeptical” about the idea. I had been looking at lots of shops that had similar items and I really felt that if they can do it, why can’t I? I’m capable and crafty, right?

I had no idea how much work would go into getting this started, but I feel energized by the activity rather than drained and that has to be a good sign. And the more things I make, the more ideas I get for new items and new designs. I’m really excited to see where this takes me!

I was especially pleased with my shop name and banner:

Tea FB Cover Photo

And of course the inventory has me pretty excited, too. I even designed my very first bag all by myself!

I designed this one all by myself!
I designed this one all by myself!

I am really a beginner at sewing, so I am learning a lot of new things and just figuring it out as I go along. But, I’ve never been afraid of learning new things when it comes to art or crafting. My feeling is that if you make a mistake or mess something up, it’s not a big deal. You’ve learned something new, gained some experience and you can just start again, no harm, no foul.

I hope you’ll visit my shop and tell me what you think. Just click on the sweet tea banner image above. Later this week, I’m going to try to do a giveaway here on the blog to celebrate my grand opening and the start of what I hope will be a great new year, so stay tuned for that!

 

10 thoughts on “Happy New Year – part 2

  1. Congratulations! Love the name and banner! Your bags look lovely. I have been wanting to start an Etsy shop, just haven’t had the time. Glad you already had sales! It is a matter of being “found” and word of mouth will help. All the best to you!

    1. Thanks very much! Yes, I’ve been reading a lot about it and you have to promote your shop a lot, but that’s just like trying to be a practicing artist. You have to spend as much time marketing and working on your business as you do creating if you want to be sucessful. (If your definition of success is having any income from it anyway.)

Leave a reply, eh?

